Beauty and the Beast: Trailer Review

Be Our Guest

I didn’t get out to a new release this past weekend, but today saw the release of the first trailer for the highly anticipated Disney live-action movie Beauty and the Beast. Let’s talk about it.

First off, as a teaser trailer, it was perfect. The music alone is sure to give any fan chills. The moment the piano solo starts is spine tingling. It brings back memories of watching the original cartoon. When the main theme starts at the end, it’s beautiful and perfectly ends the trailer leaving us wanting more – which is exactly what a trailer should do.

ballroom beauty and the beast.jpg

While I would have loved to have seen the characters, what the trailer did perfectly was set the world up. The camera pans throughout the castle and it really shows the world well. The castle looks amazing. The ballroom, which was smartly shown first, looks beautiful and stunning. The outside of the castle looks dark and mysterious, and when that door opens, it’s perfect.

Then the trailer ends on the perfect shot. There’s a closeup of the rose and it zooms out and we see Emma Watson bending down to look at the rose and we get our first look at her as Belle. The moment she bent down and her face was shown, I saw Belle. I didn’t see Hermione, I saw Belle. I am absolutely convinced she was the only choice for Belle and this trailer proved it. She is absolutely beautiful and I can’t wait to see her performance.

beauty-and-the-beast-trailer-e1464007383559

The only negative from this trailer was Lumiere’s line, “What if she is the one?” It felt flat and the accent was just off. I love Ewan McGregor and I still have faith. Often, they use different versions of lines in trailers and I hope that’s what happens here. I wasn’t a fan of that line reading, but let’s hope it was just that one line.

Overall, I am very excited for the upcoming movie. I wish they were releasing it in November, we have to wait almost  year still to see the movie, but we got a taste of it today and now, my anticipation is extremely high. It’s now my second most anticipated movie of next year, right after Star Wars Episode VIII 

Leave a Reply

