Best/Worst: Disney Animation

Walt-Disney-Animation-Studios

 

With the recent release of the live-action Beauty and the Beast trailer and the upcoming release of Alice Through the Looking Glass, I wanted to talk about my favorite and least favorite animated Disney movie. I would have done best/worst live-action Disney remake, but there’s not much to choose from. So here are my best and worst of the Disney Animated movies.

BEST

beautyandthebeast.jpg 

Beauty and the Beast

When someone someone mentions the phrase, “Disney Masterpiece,” this is the movie that comes to mind. No other Disney animation comes close to it. The Lion King, Aladdin, and Snow White all are worthy competitors, but Beauty and the Beast is better than all of them combined. Not only is this the best Disney animated movie, its the best animated movie of all time. The animation is beautiful. The ballroom sequence alone is some of the most beautiful animation I have ever seen. The moment when the camera is panning from above and sweeps down past Belle and the Beast dancing is stunning. A crane shot like that had never been done in an animated movie before and this movie really showed what animation was capable of. The songs are all fantastic. Each one has meaning and depth. They develop not only the plot line, but they also develop the characters. “Something There,” for example is a great song of showing Belle’s own transform and her opening up to seeing the Beast in a different light. The entire movie is perfection and it is an absolute masterpiece.

WORST

Rescuers

 

Worst is really tough. The reason it’s tough isn’t because there’s not many bad ones, there’s quite a few to choose from. The problem is the ones that I feel are the worst I’ve only watched once or twice and haven’t watched them since I was a kid and so it’s hard to talk a lot about them. However, I think of all the Disney movies, the one that I have ZERO desire to watch again is The Rescuers. This movie is uninteresting, slow, and dull. The characters aren’t very memorable, and the movie is quite the dud. It’s also very forgettable. It’s so forgettable, I can barely remember the plot. I remember being terribly bored watching it as a kid and never wanting to watch it again. This will never be a movie that I will ever feel like watching. If I had to watch one of my bottom 5 Disney movies, I would never pick this one. I could never sit through the Rescuers again and I don’t want to.

2 thoughts on “Best/Worst: Disney Animation

  1. Corbin Sorensen May 25, 2016 / 10:19 pm

    Oh man, this is tough cause I totally get your choice for best. Beauty and the Beast offs a masterpiece. Even if it’s not somebody’s favorite animated movie, they can’t deny that it is amazing.
    But Rescuers? I get that it’s not one of the classics like Cinderella or Peter Pan, but there have got to be wise ones than the Rescuers. Maybe that’s just my own nostalgia for that movie, but I remember it quite fondly.
    No matter the case, great post. I like the idea for this one.

    Like

    • dallinsmovietalk May 26, 2016 / 2:47 pm

      Yeah worst was a hard choice. There are a few to choose from. I almost went with Hercules, but I just thought of which movie I wouldn’t really want to watch again and it was Rescuers.

      Like

Leave a Reply

